General country information

Official name of the country: Russian Federation

Population: 146.5 million (2016, Rosstat)

Area: 17,1 million square kilometers

Capital: Moscow

System of Government: Federal Presidential Republic

Head of State: Vladimir Putin, President

Head of the Government: Dmitry Medvedev, Prime Minister

Science Minister: Olga Vasilyeva

Parliament: Federative Council (upper house), Duma (lower house)

Administrative structure: The federal subjects are grouped into eight federal districts.

Geography: The Russian Federation stretches across much of the north of Eurasia.

Source: HSE
Last update: August 2016

Design Element


Contact Persons

  • Anna Pikalova

    • Higher School of Economics (HSE)
    • Myasnitskaya 20
    • 101000 Moscow, Russia
    • Telephone: +7 495 6283254
    • Fax: +7 495 6250367
    • Email Address:
    • Homepage:
Design Element
Design Element